Projects

 

IPCC AR5 (2014): Key facts and relevance for Switzerland

End of 2013, the OcCC decided to launch a project on the outcome of the IPCC AR5 report and its consequences for Switzerland (www.ipcc.ch). ProClim-SCNAT as the scientific global change network in Switzerland was charged synthesizing the key results with relevance for Switzerland. It has been decided to use additional scientific literature of the past years to include the whole array of issues relevant for Switzerland.

Based on this report, the OcCC will elaborate recommendations for policy makers, the administration, the economic sector and society by end of 2014.

 

The report will be published in 2016


Switzerland and the 2 degrees climate target

A new study by the Advisory Body on Climate Change (OcCC) focuses on the widely agreed international target of limiting global temperature rise to 2 degrees Celsius. On the national and international level, this target is addressed in the public and political debate. It is accepted as a threshold for avoiding dangerous climate change and thus as a target value with regard to emission reductions. However, the background, the history as well as the economic and societal consequences of the 2 degrees climate target are largely unknown. How important is the target to Switzerland? What measures are to be taken in order to make national policy compatible to the global target? The OcCC will need to reconsider whether or not the target is purposeful in communicating national climate policy measures, and whether there are other solutions with more appropriate targets that should accordingly be aimed at in the future.

The study has been published end of 2012.


Climate change is a fact - and now?

The IPCC report and its consequences for Switzerland

This report synthesizes the outcome of the recent IPCC report and presents its relevance for Switzerland. Needed measures and options to help politics, economy and society to adapt and mitigate the effects of climate change are also presented.


Download the report in german:
- PDF Icon PDF (high-res) 11.5MB
- PDF Icon PDF (low-res) 2.6MB

The report is available in print (in German, from november also in French).
E-mail to: occc@scnat.ch


Switzerland in 2050

The project CH2050 was conducted together with ProClim and has been presented on 14 March 2007 at a public event in Bern.

This project of the OcCC attempts to pre-estimate the effects of climate change on Switzerland for the year 2050. Based on climate scenarios, the vulnerabilities of various spheres, such as ecology, agriculture, health, tourism, water supply, infrastructure, etc. were examined. What changes are particularly harmful? What can be done in order to adapt in time as efficiently as possible to the changing conditions?

The study is available as a .pdf file (german, french, english).

Projets

 

IPCC AR5 (2014): Les résultats les plus importantes pour la Suisse

Cette étude a été lancée par l’OcCC à la fin de l’année 2013. ProClim-SCNAT a pris le mandat pour synthétiser et adapter les résultats du Cinquième Rapport d’Evaluation (AR5) du GIEC pour la Suisse (www.ipcc.ch). Il est prévu de tenir compte aussi la littérature scientifique additionnelle publiée pendant les dernières années avec relevance pour la Suisse.

Se basant sur ces résultats, L’OcCC élabora des recommandations pour la politique, l’administration, l'économie et la société pendant l’année 2014.

 

La publication du rapport est finalement prévue pour 2016.

 


L'objectif climatique des 2°C et la Suisse

Une nouvelle étude de l'OcCC aborde l'objectif climatique des 2°C, soutenu au niveau international. Dans le débat public et politique à l'échelon national et international, l'objectif mondial des 2°C pour limiter le réchauffement de la Terre est discuté par rapport aux valeurs préindustrielles comme seuil vers des changements climatiques « dangereux » et est accepté comme valeur cible des efforts de réduction nécessaires. En maints endroits toutefois, le contexte, la genèse et les conséquences économiques et sociales de cet « objectif climatique » sont largement inconnus. Quelle importance cet objectif a-t-il pour la Suisse ? Quelles mesures convient-il de mettre en œuvre en Suisse si la politique climatique nationale doit être compatible avec cet objectif mondial ? L'OcCC doit examiner si cet objectif est judicieux et vise juste pour ce qui est de définir et mettre en œuvre la politique climatique nationale et si éventuellement d'autres concepts de solution comprennent des objectifs mieux adaptés et doivent donc être appliqués à l'avenir.

Cette étude a été publiée fin 2012.


Le climat change - que faire?

Le nouveau rapport du GIEC et les consequences pour la Suisse

Ce rapport de L'OcCC est un travail d'adaptation pour la Suisse du rapport récemment publié par le GIEC et il essaie de découvrir les conséquences qui nous attendent vers la fin de ce siècle. Il présente aussi des mesures et des stratégies pour réagir au niveau de la politique nationale, de l'économie et la société pour remédier aux impacts attendus les plus négatifs.

Le rapport est maintenant disponible aussi en français.


Téléchargement du document:
- PDF Icon PDF (high-res) 11.5MB
- PDF Icon PDF (low-res) 2.6MB


Le rapport peut être commandé imprimé auprès de l'OcCC (occc@scnat.ch).


La Suisse en 2050

Le projet 'Les changements climatiques et la Suisse en 2050' a été terminé et présenté au public le 14 mars 2007 à Berne (détails).

Ce rapport jette un regard vers l'avenir et s'interroge sur les effets des changements climatiques en Suisse en 2050. Il décrit les conséquences possibles et les vulnérabilités de l'environnement, de l'économie et de la société auxquelles il faut s'attendre en Suisse jusqu'en 2050 du fait des changements climatiques causés par les émissions de gaz à effet de serre. Il examine les impacts possibles attendus dans différents domaines et leur importance écologique, économique et sociale, de même que des mesures et stratégies d'adaptation envisageables.

Le rapport peut être téléchargé en format pdf sur le site Internet de l'OcCC.